Vulvodynia and Sexuality

1 Jan

When I first started experiencing the symptoms of Vulvodynia I felt defeated, scared, alone, angry and forever independent. Often in my blog I make it look so easy, so funny but it’s more complicated than that.

A year after the symptoms started, I was finally diagnosed and however scary the diagnosis- it was better than not knowing and I could figure out what to do next.

For those first 3 years I was terrified to interact with people, give off any attraction or even consider intimacy possible. I was enraged and violated when people hit on me or overcome with pain and resentment when friends shared their latest conquest.

I have made many choices to deal with the physical and emotional pain that comes with Vulvodynia and I decided a few years ago to write down my feelings about sexuality and chronic pelvic pain (however, I believe there is more to them than Vulvodynia)

My Sexuality is:

  • Fleeting
  • Disconnected
  • Lost
  • Guarded
  • Untapped
  • Confusing
  • Overwhelming

My Sexuality is not:

  • Constant
  • All consuming
  • Attractive
  • Desirable

I would like my sexuality to be:

  • Part of me
  • Something I am proud of
  • More than a politic
  • Desirable
  • Comfortable
  • All consuming/ something I can get caught up in
  • Not painful
  • Connected to me and someone else
  • Liberating
  • Something that does not seem fearful and dirty at times
  • Something that doesn’t get in the way

 

As hard as the battle is on certain days, if someone asked me today how Vulvodynia affects my sexuality- I would say, “It made me face it, it made me acknowledge it and honestly, I feel like I have more connection with it than I did before vulvodynia. It threw it in my face and made me deal”.

I am grateful for this outlook and understanding of how life and sex can still exist with Vulvodynia and I was lucky after the first few years to have a relationship where I was supported and understood. It made me realize- it’s not gone just different and sometimes I almost think better. 

To anyone else out there with Vulvodynia reading- some days are better than others, but it’s gonna be o.k.

Leave a comment