Walk like an 80 year old…

28 Jan

For most of my life I have reacted to pain in a similar way- I shake it off. Didn’t matter if it was a stubbed toe, to running into a wall or falling down. It never really phased me.

I have taken this thinking into my adult life and often end up with massive bruises that I don’t remember or know the cause of and other clumsy casualties. So, when I started having symptoms of Vulvodynia- it must have been extreme in order for me to feel and acknowledge the pain.

Yesterday, I got my monthly massage (which I started doing 6 months ago). It has been a good way to force myself to destress from work and do something good for myself. Most months I have come out of the session feeling amazing and relaxed. Yesterday, I just felt like an 80-year-old lady.

More than usual my hips and pelvic area were triggered and overwhelmed by overactive nerves and pain. Most of the time I am thinking- rub my back but this time I was thinking- rub my butt. It’s tough to acknowledge this as a 28 year old but the last 2 years of work and doctors galore has taken a major toll on my body. I am exhausted, constantly in pain and often anything I do- my nerves flare up and my body get’s angry.

What I am learning- is that I cannot just walk around shaking off every bruise and bump I have. Some periods of my life will be harder than others and I have to respect and acknowledge that. So here are some helpful things I learned to do:

Yoga stretches: happy baby, cobra and pigeon

Ice packs!

Walks

Crafts and books to take my mind off things

 Play with friends!

One Response to “Walk like an 80 year old…”

  1. Sam 8/1/2011 at 8:54-12:0003 #

    Pigeon and happy baby– my faves!

Leave a comment